3. Tracking the feel

  • My arm is cold
  • Cold cell phone screen too
  • Warm fluffiness under my blanket… let’s stay here for 30 more minutes
  • Icy, smooth wooden floor underfoot
  • Dog scratching at my leg for attention
  • Oddly smooth light switch
  • Cold tiled floor
  • Cold unwanted shower water
  • Warm comfortable shower water
  • Smooth, slightly slippery shampoo bottle
  • Aqueous shampoo running through fingers
  • Scrubbing…
  • Warm water through hair
  • Repeat for conditioner
  • Soft bath mat underfoot
  • Cold air uncomfortable
  • Colossal blanket warm to touch
  • Soft clothes
  • Cold, wet hair
  • Annoying cold draft
  • Oddly warm door handle
  • Warm fluffy blanket
  • Slight bounce of dog jumping onto bed
  • Warm dog butt on face
  • Cool, soft pillow on cheek

4. Visual Agnosia Response

Visual agnosia is very hard to picture for me, like trying to look at simple English words without actually reading them. I have been looking around at my surroundings now for the past few minutes, and have been trying to picture objects as different components of the object, but it is simply too hard. For example, the pen. I can mentally separate the pen cap, shaft, ink holder and various other part of the brain in my head, but when I look at the object I cannot help but to see the entire pen as a whole. Because I do not have visual agnosia, I find this concept relatively hard to image and put into an example, but the closest thing I can come up with is perhaps a portrait in the “Chuck Close” style. Because Chuck Close is a compilation of various tiny squares, each with their own unique style, is it very hard to picture when standing close to it, and only when one steps back can only understand what the painting is about. Perhaps this is similar to people with visual agnosia, who can recognize the individual aspects, but cannot connect the painting together.

5. Theories of reality

I most adhere to Scientific Realism, for I think we simply perceive atoms whizzing around in various ways. However, I cannot fully agree that there is an independent reality, for I think there is a direct correlation between how atoms move and how we perceive. I do not believe that we perceive something completely different than how the atoms are acting. For example, if I look down and see a blue pen, the blue in the pen is caused by electrons dropping from high energy levels down to the second energy level (supporting the Bohr model of the atom) to create visible light. I do not think there in an independent reality where this does not occur, for the way the electrons move is directly correlated to how we perceive.

6. Perception affected

In Psychology, we learned about schema theory, and how schema makes people make sense of the world around them. I believe we will still be able to perceive certain aspects of the world the same anywhere regardless of background, such as colors or if the numerical value of 100 is greater than the numerical value of 1, but I feel that how we perceive the world can be affected by our various backgrounds. Take a simple song. Based on one’s background, the same song can be either meaningful or shallow, horrific or sensitive, catchy or annoying. Just based on one’s prior experience, even a simple song can have widely varying connotations.

7. Sixth Sense Implications

Although I find the notion and idea of the sixth sense technology interesting, I feel there are some severe implications which will need to be addressed. I feel some of the joy of learning information is to experience it yourself, and I feel this technology would take away from that experience. For example, when I went to Egypt and saw the pyramids, I first wanted to simply view them for the magnificent achievements that they are instead of someone telling me that they are great achievements. I feel this technology robs people of the skill to comprehend and understand on their own, and one would become too reliant on the technology. Also, if the skill to comprehend information is lost by the use of this technology, even if the technology is able to produce as much information as a human can possibly want, the human will no longer be able to make sense of the information and the information will become moot.

8. Gestalt image

Image

This USA network uses the design principles of Gestalt, which was created by Gestalt to explain how people group things together to create a unified whole. Here, the designer has chosen to use closure, in order to allow the viewer to form for themselves the top and bottom of the “S.” this is done by slightly morphing the shape of the “U” and “A” in order to create the basic outline of the “S” while still keeping the other two letter legible.

